Ajman

Interior design in Ajman

Ajman prints the fee and the timing beside almost every building service, so the permit side of an interior can be budgeted before the designer starts.

Published fees

Interior design company in Ajman: which permit and what fee?

Choosing an interior design company in Ajman is simpler on paper than in the other emirates we cover, because the government catalogue prints a fee and a duration next to almost every building service. Its Municipality and Planning Department section alone lists 94 services. Below are the permits an interior project can touch, what each one costs, and where in Ajman the work is.

Do I need a permit for interior design in Ajman?

Building maintenance work runs on Ajman's Maintenance Permit (service 3393): AED 1,000, two days after a site inspection, and open to individuals as well as contracting companies. A change to the architecture or the structure needs an Architectural or Structural Modifications Request (service 3283), AED 200 and two days, filed by a business. We brief Ajman design firms on which of the two your plans trigger.

Ajman permit fees for interior work

Ajman Municipality services that touch interiors, catalogue read September 2026
ServiceFee in AEDDurationWho applies
Maintenance Permit (3393)AED 1,0002 daysContracting companies and individuals
Architectural or Structural Modifications (3283)AED 2002 daysBusinesses undertaking construction
Interior design plans, food and health premises (3375)AED 1001 dayEngineering consultancy firms
Night Work Permit (3390)AED 5001 dayThrough the AjmanOne app
Deposit refund (3397)Free7 daysIndividuals and businesses
Contractor or consultant accreditation (3287)AED 2002 daysContracting and consulting firms
Ajman Municipality services that touch interiors, catalogue read September 2026

The maintenance permit asks for the building owner's ID, an updated site plan and the maintenance contract. It adds a supervising consultant's contract if modifications occur, the property owner's no-objection letter where there is a tenant, Civil Defence and Health Department approval of the plans, and architectural plans for modifications or exterior paintwork. You sign in with UAE PASS, pay, and book a site inspection, and the permit follows the inspection. A deposit attaches to it; the refund service is free and lists 7 days, though the catalogue does not state the deposit's amount.

Send us the rooms and the district

Warm neutral apartment living room featuring a sectional sofa, wooden armchairs, jute rug, and city views at dusk

When does an interior design need the modifications route?

When it changes the architecture or the structure rather than maintaining it. The Architectural or Structural Modifications Request needs approved drawings and sign-offs from four bodies: Etihad Water and Electricity, Etisalat, the Ajman Sewerage Company and Civil Defence, which is waived for residential and agricultural buildings. What comes back is a reissued building permit carrying the approved modifications. Contractors and consultants practise under the Municipality's professional practice accreditation, which asks for an employee disclosure, a Society of Engineers card and the office's size in square metres.

Ajman's one interior design approval, AED 100 and one day, covers the plans of food and health premises and is filed by an engineering consultancy, so a home interior stays on the maintenance and modification routes above.

Ajman districts with interior demand

Ajman's open data portal shows where the work is. The Department of Economic Development's licence counts list Décor Works among the recurring activities in every residential district, and Al Rawda's three districts alone hold 16,467 licences. Al Rawda 1 to 3, Al Mowaihat 1 to 3 and Al Helio 1 and 2 have no registered developer projects at all. They are owner-built plot districts, so every room in a new villa there is specified by its owner. Plot sales in Al Helio 2 reached 2,825 in 2025, and 969 in Al Helio 1.

Al Zorah is the one community here with a named master developer: a joint venture of Solidere International and the Government of Ajman, with villas at Sea Glints Mansions, Beach Hills Duplex Villas and The Fairways Villas, and apartments at Creekside, Gateway, Sealine and Seaside Hills. It publishes no renovation or fit-out rules, so the Municipality's permits are the published route there too.

A modern room with a wooden table overlooking a balcony with coastal views and palm trees

Who can own in Ajman, and who signs the permit?

Ajman's land department charges non-citizens 3 percent, with a AED 3,000 minimum, to register a sale, against 2 percent and AED 2,500 for citizens and GCC nationals, which confirms that non-citizens can hold title in their own name. No authority publishes a list of the zones where they may buy, while Al Zorah's developer states that foreigners have the right to 100 percent ownership. Registering a unit sale needs the developer's clearance, and jointly owned property carries a AED 500 NOC fee. For an interior, the signature that matters is the owner's: a tenant's maintenance permit needs the property owner's no-objection letter.

What does an interior design company in Ajman charge?

None of the firms on our fee page publishes an Ajman band yet, so prices are confirmed per emirate from the proposals themselves. Until then our Ajman price guide works from the Dubai bands: design alone at 10 to 20 percent of the project value, a studio package from AED 10,000, and design and build for part of a villa from AED 80,000. The permit side is the one part you can price today, starting with the AED 1,000 maintenance permit. Made-to-measure furniture is priced from the same drawings, piece by piece.

Sharjah, next door, publishes no fee table at all and prices each permit through an engineer's assessment, as the Sharjah rules explain. Our interior design service briefs firms in both emirates on one written scope.

Questions

Ajman interior questions

Can I apply for an Ajman maintenance permit myself?
Yes. The catalogue lists individuals as well as contracting companies as applicants for the maintenance permit, which is unusual among the emirates we cover. You sign in with UAE PASS, pay the AED 1,000 fee and book the site inspection. Architectural or structural modifications, by contrast, are filed by a business.
How much is the deposit on an Ajman maintenance permit?
The catalogue confirms a deposit attaches to maintenance permits but does not state the amount. It comes back through the Insurance Refund Request service, which is free, lists 7 days and pays by bank transfer or cheque once the approved requirements are met. The published insurance of AED 2 per square metre applies to building permits, not to maintenance permits.
Does interior work in Ajman need Civil Defence approval?
The maintenance permit's document list includes Civil Defence and Health Department approval of the plans. For architectural or structural modifications, the Civil Defence sign-off is required except on residential and agricultural buildings.
Can interior work run at night in Ajman?
With a Night Work Permit: AED 500, one day, requested through the AjmanOne app and granted after an inspector checks the site. The catalogue does not publish the permitted hours themselves, so ask the contractor to confirm them in writing.
Does Al Zorah have its own interior rules?
Its site carries no homeowner portal, community rules or fit-out guidelines, so the Municipality's maintenance and modification permits are the published route. The developer does state that foreigners may own property there outright.
Do tenants in Ajman need the owner's permission for interior work?
Yes. The maintenance permit asks for the property owner's no-objection letter whenever there is a tenant. Get that letter before the designer starts on drawings, so nothing is drawn that the owner will not allow.
What should an Ajman contractor be able to show?
Its professional practice accreditation from Ajman Municipality, a service that costs AED 200, takes two days and asks for an employee disclosure, a Society of Engineers card and the office's floor area. Ask to see the certificate itself before you sign.
Are interior design prices lower in Ajman?
No published band says so. We confirm Ajman prices per emirate from the proposals, and the permit costs are the one part published in advance: AED 1,000 for maintenance, AED 200 for a modification request and AED 500 for night work.

Who you are dealing with

  • OperatorWebsiteOS LLC
  • Licence2646567.01
  • Cost to homeownerNone
  • Figures datedSeptember 2026

Tell us about the space

Rooms, floor area, community and what you want designed. We come back with design firms who quote against the published bands, and show you where each quote sits against them.